What Tim Cook’s essay means to me

Fortune

Tim Cook’s essay in Businessweek, in which he acknowledges a sexual preference that was nobody’s business and not much of a secret, is a thing everybody should read.

If you haven’t yet, do it now.

This is the paragraph that resonated for me:

Being gay has given me a deeper understanding of what it means to be in the minority and provided a window into the challenges that people in other minority groups deal with every day. It’s made me more empathetic, which has led to a richer life. It’s been tough and uncomfortable at times, but it has given me the confidence to be myself, to follow my own path, and to rise above adversity and bigotry. It’s also given me the skin of a rhinoceros, which comes in handy when you’re the CEO of Apple.”

I’m not gay. But I know what Tim Cook is talking about.

View original post 462 more words

Leave a Reply

