Confessions of a Self-Publishing Consultant

Kobo Writing Life

When I wrote my novel, Baby Jane, like so many indie authors I rushed to publish. It seemed so simple, the press was good, and the self-publishing gurus were stressing the ease and freedom of going it alone. I got my novel out first as an ebook and then I published in print. Within days I received my first five-star review from a stranger and thought all was going rather well. I felt vindicated in my decision to self-publish.

And then the problems started.

Without going into detail, suffice it to say these problems cost me time, money, and a great deal of stress. Some of the problems were my own fault for not having done my homework, some were the result of listening to well-intentioned but misinformed fellow authors I connected with on the forums, and some were the result of deliberate misinformation provided by the companies I…

View original post 649 more words

Leave a Reply

