“Is your PC virus-free? Get it infected here!”

Didier Stevens

Would you click on this Google ad?

drivebydownload1.png

No? Sure? Because 409 persons did!

How do I know? Because I’ve been running this Google Adwords campaign for 6 months now.

Last fall, my attention got caught by a small book on Google Adwords at our local library. Turns out it’s very easy to setup an ad and manage the budget. You can start with a couple of euros per month. And that gave me an idea: this can be used with malicious intend. It’s a way to get a drive-by download site on the first page of a search result (FYI, I’ve reported on other ways to achieve this). So I started an experiment…

  1. I bought the drive-by-download.info domain. .info domains are notorious for malware hosting.
  2. I setup a web server to display a simple page saying “Thank you for your visit!” and to log each request. That’s all. I want…

View original post 360 more words

Leave a Reply

